pic9.jpg
pic8.jpg

St. Patricks Church

Karen Fasimpaur, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

St. Patrick's Interior

St. Patricks Church

* on the Old Bisbee Tour and Copper City Territory Tour

  • St. Patricks Cathedral is the fourth catholic church in Bisbee, needed after Bisbee's population outgrew the other three.

  • Father Constant Mandin organized a funding campaign to build a new and permanent home for St. Patrick’s.

  • Construction started in 1915.

  • St. Patricks was built to meet the needs of catholic Irish and Welsh miners.

  • The cost to build the church was $150,000, but Father Mandin only raised $40,000 from parishioners.

  • To help complete construction, Irish and Welsh miners along with Father Mandin helped in the evenings after working a long day in the mines.

  •  Thomas Higgins, a local copper tycoon, donated the sloping site on Higgins Hill; his sole stipulation was that the church faces the mountains and his own mine higher up the hill.

  • The Bishop of Tucson consecrated the church in 1917.

  • Designed by Los Angeles–based architect Albert C. Martin and is a Gothic Revival church.

  • Martin’s precedent for St. Patricks was St. Begh’s Priory in Whitehaven, England.

  • The large stained glass windows were designed and manufactured by the Emil Frei Art Glass Company in St. Louis, Missouri. 

  • The earthen-colored brick exterior and red terra-cotta trim are designed with red and brown hues that reflect the native environment.

  • ​The Gladding McBean Company of Lincoln, California, provided the building’s terra-cotta facing.

  • The roof clad in slate tiles were imported from Vermont. 

  • The plastered interior has a ribbed vault, 40-foot-high plastered ceiling, and altars crafted by the Chicago-based Daprato Statuary Company in 1916.

Karen Fasimpaur, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons