Pic2.jpg

Central School

* on the Old Bisbee Tour and Copper City Territory Tour

  • Location of second school in Bisbee, first was located higher up Tank Hill but moved due to danger from Apache attacks.

  • First structure made of adobe and constructed in 1883.

  • Final structure designed by F.C. Hurst in 1905, architect for the Copper Queen Mining Co.

  • Built of jumbo cast stone blocks and heavy timber roof framing.

  • The bell was a gift from the Copper Queen Mine employees.

  • Four blasts from the whistle at the Copper Queen Mine --two short, one long, one short--warned there was danger of an Apache attack.

  • Students and teacher had to run to the Copper Queen Mine and hide during Apache sightings and attacks.

  • Students used to disable the bell - rope in order to avoid class.

  • A community center - used as a church, lodge room, dance hall, theater, and lecture room.

  • Your tour guide attended first grade here.